Looks like I’ve been headhunted.

I swear, sometimes the world works in mysterious ways.

The last year or so, my dedication and energy at the job has slowly gone downhill. I’ve been here 6,5 years, learned everything I know about this industry. I was a very young, doeeyed girl, when I started here.

Last week, I was reading darlingdoll82.wordpress.com, how she was offered another job, got a raise and better terms, not imagining it’d happen to me days after. And just last week, I was annoyed with some work here, and I thought ‘God, can’t I just get out of these kinds of tasks, and just do the part I rock at?’

Tuesday I got a call. Wednesday I had an interview. And wednesday they asked me to join them – and I said yes.

I’m baffled and counting my lucky stars that I landed a new job where I can do what I do best and negotiated a 24,5% raise and a much better bonus. Excited and proud. And even though I wont become a millionaire, it’ll be a big difference for a one-income household.

I’m also scared to death. Taking the leap is nervewrecking, especially when there’s no other income at home if the unthinkable happens, and it doesnt work out. Oh, and I’m kinda afraid I wont live up to their expectations…

The whole decision and the fact that I did it, keeps emerging in my thoughts every 3 minutes, and I think to myself ‘Oh my God, what have I done?!’

But at the end of the day… I didnt get to where I am today without taking chances. Remembering to sometimes move out of the comfort zone and -always- being true to myself has always been important to me. But boy… It’s big. And exciting. And big! And I’m feeling confident, but also kinda small.

Wish me luck, guys? *in need of a smiley doing a shy smile*

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Looks like I’ve been headhunted.

  1. TempestTcup says:

    Congratulations! Starting a new job is always scary but exciting, plus more money is always nice. You will do great!

  2. Peregrine John says:

    If someone’s looking for you, odds are pretty strong you’re worth looking for. Benefits of an open market system, y’know? So like Tempest says, it’s scary – it’s change, after all – but it’ll be a good thing sooner or later.

    My bet is on sooner.

    • Thanks for the input. 🙂

      Funny thing is, tonight I had to find an account number I knew I had in my ‘divorce bible’. A notebook I had with me more or less constantly for about six months back when I decided to leave my husband. I started all over and wrote down all the stuff I had to remember to do. To check. Find prices on. Insurances, cable, internet, car. What forms to fill out. Budgets. Jotted down appointsments with real estaters. All kinds of things I needed to remember. I was skimming through it, and written on the side of one page, I’d scribbled a quote that I’d read somewhere.

      ‘Courage is being scared to death, but saddling anyway.’

      Tonight – seeing that quote, in my little ‘bible’ that functioned as an anchor in the sea of chaos that was my life at the time … made me smile. I got through that. This’ll be a walk in the park compared. 🙂

  3. Congratssss!!! So damn awesome. And much deserved. Wonderful to see how much this Manosphere/Womenosphere has helped you on that journey!!!

  4. David says:

    That’s great! I’m in the same boat: starting a new job, new organization on the other side of the world in 2 months. The prospect at first thrilled me, then scared the shit out of me for weeks. Now I’m on top of it. The confidence will come as you go along. Like you said, just be true to yourself and stay proud.

    • That sounds amazing! Where are you gonna work in the world?
      And yeah, I guess you’re right it’s a matter of going through fazes. My first was disbelief stirred with sheer thrill – I was -shrieking- on the phone, when I called my friend after the interview and handshake on coming on board *laughs* – then the ‘Oh my God, what have I done?’ feeling set in. But after handing in my resignation today, I’m more calm. I was afraid my boss would put my head on a spike. Instead we kinda both cried. Better outcome. 😉

  5. darlingdoll says:

    Oh my gosh congratulations!!! I’m so happy for you! It will be a good transition. Every time you start to doubt your decisions, think about all of things that made you want to leave in the first place. You know those things aren’t likely to change, so your decisions was the right one 🙂

  6. Mik says:

    Nice. Congrats 🙂 Always good to have little extra cash. The fact that you were head hunted, would most probably, you’re pretty damn good at what you’re doing.

    New environment, new people. Love that. All the best, may this be a life changer for you.

    Best Wishes,

    Irfan.

    Anyway

Leave a Reply

